For breakfast, I had left in the refrigerator:

1/2 bag fresh cranberries, rinsed

1 large apple, cored & sliced thin

1 pear, cored & sliced thin

1 cup Water

1/2 cup raw brown sugar

 

Bring the water and sugar to a gentle boil in a medium pot. I prefer no sugar at all, but I’m not the only one eating it. You can add more or less sugar to your liking, or use another natural sweetener of your choice.

Add the rinsed cranberries, once the sugar is dissolved.

Add the apple and pear slices.

Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and let simmer down to a thick consistency. Keep an eye on this, stirring every now and then, to prevent sticking to the bottom of the pot. Turn off stove. Let cool, or use hot if you’d like for topping waffles, pancakes, etc.

Transfer to a container when cool (I use glass), and store in the refrigerator. Mine keeps for a few days. I try to use everything I make within three days.

I completed my breakfast with cooked quinoa cereal, ground flaxseed topping, raw almonds, and the other half of the fruits. Later, I used this as a topping, as a side dish, and as a supper with whole-grain crackers & herbal tea.